The Open

The Open Championship, or simply The Open (often referred to as the British Open) is one of the oldest and most prestigious tournaments in the world of sport.

It is the oldest of the four major golf championships in professional golf and it is the only major held outside the United States of America.

The Open was first competed for in 1860 when just eight golfers competed. Nowadays thousands of golfers across the world compete in qualifying tournaments to become one of the 156 players that start the actual championship.

The tournament is a 72-hole stroke-play tournament with a cut after 36 holes, limited to the top 70 players and ties. If after the four rounds, players are tied, The Open features a four-hole playoff and continues into sudden-death if the players are still tied. This is unique among the four major championships.

This year’s championship will take place at The Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Hoylake, Merseyside. The last time it was held in Hoylake, in 2006, the tournament was won by Tiger Woods. That was the third time Tiger has won the tournament and so far the last time he did.

The current champion is American left-hander Phil Mickelson.

The winning trophy is known as the Claret Jug although its official name is the Golf Champion Trophy.

The Claret jug is not the only trophy awarded as the silver medal is awarded to the highest placed amateur player.

Trade Bookings

Bookings now being taken for exhibitors and food vendors at the most exciting sporting event in the capital this summer.

Read more

Media Registration

Media registration now open. If you are an accredited member of the press or news organisation book your place now.

Read more

Latest News

Read about our exhibitors, latest partners and details of some of the expected special appearances at Golf by The Thames.

Read more